About Zilla Parishad

Dakshin Dinajpur or South Dinajpur is a district in the Indian state of West Bengal, India. It was created on 1 April 1992 by the division of the erstwhile West Dinajpur District. The Headquarter (sadar) of the district is at Balurghat. It comprises two subdivisions: Balurghat and Gangarampur at Buniadpur . According to the 2011 census, it is the third least populous District of West Bengal (out of 23).


Administrative subdivisions

The district comprises two subdivisions: Balurghat and Gangarampurpur at Buniadpur. Balurghat subdivision consists of Balurghat municipality and four community development blocks: HiliBalurghatKumarganj and TapanGangarampur subdivision consists of GangarampurBuniadpur municipalities and four community development blocks: GangarampurBansihariHarirampur and Kushmandi. Balurghat is the district headquarters. There are nine police stations, eight development blocks, Three municipalities, 64 gram panchayats and 2317 villages in this district.

Other than municipality area, each subdivision contains community development blocs which are divided into rural areas and census towns.

Balurghat subdivision

Gangarampur subdivision at Buniadpur

Assembly constituencies

The district is divided into six assembly constituencies:

  1. Kushmandi (SC) (assembly constituency no. 33),
  2. Gangarampur (assembly constituency no. 35),
  3. Tapan (ST) (assembly constituency no. 40,
  4. Kumarganj (assembly constituency no. 37),
  5. Balurghat (assembly constituency no. 38).
  6. Harirampur (assembly constituency no. 42).

Tapan constituency is reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates. Kushmandi constituency is reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) candidates. Along with one assembly constituency from North Dinajpur district, the six assembly constituencies of this district form the Balurghat (Lok Sabha constituency), which is reserved for SC candidates.

Impact of delimitation of constituencies

As per order of the Delimitation Commission in respect of the delimitation of constituencies in the West Bengal, the district was divided into six assembly constituencies:[10]

  1. Kushmandi (SC) (assembly constituency no. 37)
  2. Kumarganj (assembly constituency no. 38)
  3. Balurghat (assembly constituency no. 39)
  4. Tapan (ST) (assembly constituency no. 40)
  5. Gangarampur (SC) (assembly constituency no. 41)
  6. Harirampur (assembly constituency no. 42)

Tapan constituency is reserved for ST candidates. Kushmandi and Gangarampur constituencies are reserved for SC candidates. Along with Itahar assembly constituency from Uttar Dinajpur district, the six assembly constituencies of this district form the Balurghat (Lok Sabha constituency).